How to add login to homepage?

edited October 2011 in News & Announcements
Hi, I am new to Fuel and I see the dashboard forces a login but what about have the homepage having a login button and popup like it does for the dashboard? I know I can redirect with the new variable after login but I am completely confused as to how to do this.

Thanks.

Comments

• edited 3:37PM
    What I am trying to do is have people log in from the homepage and then have code to determine what modules they have access to. Then only showing those links to those modules. Maybe that makes more sense. This is very new to me and I am more than a bit confused. I have done a lot of PHP but not MVC and not Fuel. Help if you would. I likely will be on here a lot until I can wrap my head around this. For some reason it is not making a lot of sense to me.
    You can add a link to your homepage of mysite.com/fuel/login. With regards to "I know I can redirect with the new variable after login but I am completely confused as to how to do this."... can you clarify what you meant by the "new variable" part?
    Thanks. i want it to instantly pop up with a log in if they are not logged in. So does your answer still apply the same? So they would come to the homepage and it would show the login if not logged in , and then send to the home of the application.

The other variable was the login_redirect or something like that. So after they login takes them to whatever page that constant is set to. Constant, variable, whatever it is you added in recently.

Ultimately, I need to make an application that loads in different modules with ajax into a div so the outside menu does not change. I can handcode all this but using MVC is a bit new to me so trying to figure out if I need an advanced module or just a regular module setup. I was thinking to keep the same url and somehow getting the inner div to ajax in new data. This is somewhat I new topic but thought I would ask why the author is helping. :o)