Note the upgraded forum! If you are experiencing issues logging in, you may need to reset your password which should send an email. If the email doesn't arrive, be sure to check your spam folder just in case.

Extend Core Config

edited March 2011 in Installation
Hey,

i'm new with fuel and i'm hit:

i tried to improve the error handling and extended the system->core->config.php.
I created a new MY_Config.php which will be loaded perfectly.

BUT: Your page_router is one of the top-level loadings. The Constructor of the Page Router is requesting the sytem/core->config BEFORE My_config is loaded to overwrite some features.

Am i wrong? Can you show me a way out?

Thank you,

webcam

Comments

• edited March 2011
    actually i think i'm wrong. :)

Also i think this is not a fuel question. I tried to to extend the core->config.php file to overwrite the load(); function. But it wont recognize it.
  • edited 3:25AM
    ok.. i've found it.

i changed the third_party->mX->config.php from:

class MX_Config extends CI_Config

to:

class MX_Config extends MY_Config.

--

when i create a controller in application->controller-> eg. welcome.php
    and i want to call it (http://www.site.com/welcome), an error will thrown:

"The configuration file fuel.php does not exist."

after a little bit playing around with my error handler, i realized, fuel cms is searching the fuel.php in:

"fuel/application/config/fuel.php"

why is that?
    ok. next step. :)

now it works, i needed to set $config['enable_hooks'] to FALSE;

if i enable hooks, i cant create a own controller. is this possible?
    What happens if you try extending it similar to how fuel/application/core/MY_Loader.php where you require your third party config or you could try adding it to the application/core directory but have your class extend MX_Config (not MX_Config extend your class). The MX_Config has modular separation code in it and is needed by FUEL, so make sure that is not altered.