MyISAM or InnoDB?

edited November 2011 in Installation
Any particular reason why the Fuel tables use the MyISAM table type instead of the InnoDB type? I'm not a huge expert in MySQL and intricate differences between the two types other than what I've read in articles and in the MySQL manual, but it does seem like there are some benefits to using InnoDB, so I thought I would ask you guys if it matters or not.

Erik

Comments

• edited 3:51PM
    There really isn't a good reason other then when we first started with FUEL that was the default storage engine for MySQL.
    We could potentially modify the schema and migrate to innodb and still use the framework. Nothing is stopping from doing it after it is being deployed right?

Do you see/anticipate issues?
    Sounds good. I'm wondering if the schema should be modified to basically take out the engine designation for all the fuel tables, that way the table engine will be selected based on the default engine setup for the MySQL version that the fuel app will eventually use.
    Fulltext indexing is an advantage in certain circumstances but is only supported with MyISAM... so if you leave the engine out be sure you never use Fulltext...
    I wouldn't leave it to some default setting. There's no point using innodb if you have no relationships to enforce. Table's should use what they need to.

There's plenty of spots where Fuel creates logical relationships but they're not *actual* relationships. One benefit (to some, perhaps not for all) would be cascading deletes.. could negate most of the on_after_deletes.
    I'll give you another reason to stay with MyISAM. Totally unrelated to FUEL, but potentially deadly.