How to : Make a custom form and process/validate/update data

edited December 2010 in Modules
Hi folks, Hi David,

I'm here again to ask your help. I have to say first that i'm kinda new to this MVC stuff and to Fuel and Codeigniter.

My questions is the following :
- How can i make a form in my advanced module ?

Does something like that is the correct way ?
<?php
class Quiz extends CI_Controller {

function __construct()
	{
		parent::__construct();
	}

function create()
	{
	    $this->load->library('form_builder');

$fields['language_id'] = array('type' => 'input', 'label' => 'Language Id', 'required' => TRUE);
		$fields['category_id'] = array('type' => 'input', 'label' => 'Category Id', 'required' => TRUE);
                $this->form_builder->set_fields($fields);

// will set the values of the fields if there is an error... must be after set_fields
		$this->form_builder->display_errors = TRUE;
		$this->form_builder->form_attrs = array('method' => 'get', 'action' => 'submit');
		$vars['form'] = $this->form_builder->render();
		$this->load->view('create_quiz', $vars);
	}

function submit()
	{

}
}
If correct and it seems so, i managed to display a form when i go to
http://localhost/fuelcms/quiz/create

My next question is how do i retrieve the infos now ?
I mean with what variable do i get back the values entered and how do I push them to the database ?

Thanks in advance

Lionel

Comments

• edited 8:01AM
    Does the form map directly to a model? If so, if you are extending the base_module_model, you have access to a form_fields() method that you can modify to create your form fields, and you may not need to create a controller at all. If you haven't already, I'd recommend reading the following links that may help get you started:

http://www.getfuelcms.com/user_guide/modules/tutorial
    http://www.getfuelcms.com/user_guide/modules/simple
    http://www.getfuelcms.com/user_guide/libraries/base_module_model