How would one use ajax ? opt-in controller, or custom controller

edited September 2011 in Share
Hello, Im still kind of new to Ci and newer to Fuel cms. I am wondering the right way to use ajax to load in views.

For example i have a page with about 4 links to other areas in my site, but instead of having the pages refresh, when going to the different links, I would like to use jquery ajax to retrieve the different pages/views and load them into a particular div. And thats without the header and the footer.

Please how would i do that ?
do i need to create custom controllers for all my pages ?
And would i still be able to add them to the cms, so editors can still make changes to the pages ?

thank you in advance.

Comments

• edited 9:47AM
    You could create a page and associate it to a layout that doesn't include the header and footer. Layouts can be found in the fuel/applications/views/_layouts folder.
    Thank you for your reply, but if i did that, what about degredation ? how would i pass the layout variable if its an ajax request and if its not an ajax request (mean while i am still not sure if i should create controllers or i can still use the opt-in controller) ?

Thank s
    Ok sir, what i did was i created another view file and placed
    <?=fuel_set_var('layout', '')?>
    this worked flawlessly.
    But leads me to anew problem, so do i have to duplicate all my view files just for ajax requests ?
    is there a way to pass in a view layout variable based on type of request i.e if its an ajax request, or just a normal request , so that i dont have to duplicate my view files ?

thanks again.
    Sure. You can pass variables to the page using the opt-in controller but you must specify the view to associate with the page since the URI will contain additional segments of variable information and will not have a view file to match (e.g. about/my_ajax_page/variable1/variable2):
    http://www.getfuelcms.com/user_guide/general/creating-pages