more tutorials

pscpsc
edited December 2010 in News & Announcements
Hi! I installed fuel yesterday without any major issues and it looks like it has a ton of potential to do exactly what I want to make it do. It seems like fuel is there to help and not to hinder.

However, I am new to Code Igniter (which probably doesn't help) although I'm experienced in PHP & CSS.

I'm really having trouble understanding the documentation. This is probably due to my lack of a deep understanding of the MVC & Code Igniter system.

I am simply trying to rebuild an site with some static pages, but its not as easy as I hoped. I have read through the documentation over and over again but I still don't get it. Some questions...

When I create a new page, and then try to visit it, I get a 404 error. Hua?

Is there a way that I can use Fuel's Asset control panel to edit CSS in the browser without having to FTP?

When I replaced the main.css file, I blew out the admin controls and some other inline editing features.

What is the protocol for building a new site; a video tutorial to eliminate the (beautiful) Fuel Splash pages & Example pages and replace with a simple white background site (while maintaining the inline editing CSS) would be ***awesome***.

I like how pages get added to navigation automatically and I'm excited to quickly rebuild my site (that has approx 150 static pages... and some dynamic ones, but I'll get to those, later.) -- Is it possible to do most of the work within the web browser or do I need to be editing MVC files to turn the menu on (it seems there is no main navigation on the fuel example pages).

Anyways, that's a lot of questions, but you get an idea of where I'm at with this. On its face this project looks much more promising than the PyroCMS system... looking forward to getting some answers.

PS I hope you guys are all over this forum thing, your product is too new to get information from google searches, unfortunately.

Comments

• pscpsc
    edited 3:01AM