WYSIWYG: Add custom buttons to load blocks?

edited January 2016 in Modules
Hi!
I would like to add a button to the WYSIWYG editor in the backend so that my clients can insert blocks without having to type the simplified markdown like {fuel_block('...')}. I am new to FUEL and I am learning very slowly, so would someone be willing to help me out by pointing me in the right direction? What would need to be done to (1) make a new button on the editor (2) when that button is clicked, load a window (like when you are adding tags/categories/etc.) with a list of all blocks and then (3) when a block is chosen, insert the markdown for that block by the cursor in the editor.

Thanks so much!
Z

Comments

• edited 11:08AM
    Are you using the default markItUp! editor or CKEditor (which can be configured in the MY_fuel.php $config['text_editor'] value).
    I'm using the CKeditor.
    To create CKEditor plugins, you'll need to dig a little bit into the CKEditor documentation. The fuelimage and fuellink can be looked at as examples. Note that in the fuel/application/config/editors.php file it shows how they are both Added to the toolbar (FUELImage and FUELLink/FUELUnlink respectively) and they are also included as "extraPlugins". The code for fuelimage and fuellink plugins is in the fuel/modules/fuel/assets/js/editors/ckeditor/plugins folder: