Trying to get 404 to work

edited August 2014 in Installation
HI, I have been using this for about 3 years. I have not upgraded much as I have too much invested in it. I have version .9.3.
The issue right now is say I have a site.com/test and test is not a controller and I want it to show a 404. I have the Opt-In working fine. If I set development mode it shows blank page obviously. Otherwise I get errors that it cant find a page to go to. I am sure it is something simple. I cant find where in the code it kicks it to a 404. 404 override is the page_router so the 404 never seems to get called even though test controller does not exist. test test1 whatever. I have custom error page I go to in my htaccess but that is for shtml that I catch. This will be for errors like I cant find a page or the controller. It errors out in the header:
Filename: _blocks/header.php
I always know that means I dont have the view file set. In this case there is no controller correct or any view file matching it. I know I must have something simple to set. fuel_mode is cms.
Well let me know.. I think I have given enough info.

Comments

• edited September 2014
    If you are using an "opt-in" view file to create a page, it will use the fuel/modules/fuel/controllers/fuel_router.php controller. If you check out that controller, you'll see that it first checks the CMS for a page (if fuel_mode is set to "auto"), then it will check for a view file named "test". If that view file exists, it will get pulled into a layout file (the default is the fuel/application/views/_layouts/main.php file). That layout file usually has called to load in the header and footer view files which may be where that error is coming from. If that view file does not exist, then it will do a redirect_404 which will first check for any matching redirects and if none are found, it will finally 404 out.
  • edited August 2014