displaying Moduals with has_many() relationship in views

edited March 2014 in Modules
I'm very familiar with CodeIgniter, but this is my first time using fuelcms. So far, I love it. I created a meetings_model.php file and a childcare_options_model.php file. The meetings model has a $has_many relationship with the childcare_options model. Importing them both into the admin area as modules was easy enough. The modules work, I can add, edit, and delete Meetings and Childcare Options as well as associate Childcare Options with Meetings. However, I'm having trouble displaying the meetings with their childcare options in a view file.

In a view file, I can display all of the meeting data, but don't know how to access the meeting's childcare data. I checked the mysql logs and indeed, the childcare_options table is not joined in fuel's mysql query.

I've read through http://docs.getfuelcms.com/modules/tutorial and know about the fuel_relationships table. It seems like I could join the tables manually in the meetings_model->list_items() method, but I get the impression that fuel is supposed to do this automatically. Right?

In the view, i'm trying:
<?php $meetings = fuel_model('meetings', array('find' => 'all', 'date asc')); ?>
<?php foreach($meetings as $meeting) : ?>
<?php foreach($meeting->childcare_options as $childcare_option):?>

Any suggestions or examples? I can post more of my code if that would be helpful too. Thanks!

Comments

• edited 12:41AM
    At first glance, that syntax looks correct. A few questions:
    1. I'm assuming the has_many key is also "childcare_options" correct?
    2. Is the $childcare_option variable in the loop empty (does $childcare_option->values() return an array of its property values)?
    3. Are you able to get to line 5370 of the MY_Model class (perhaps just add an exit there to see if it stops the script)? This is the record objects __get magic method which handles those dynamic bindings to the object.
    1. Yes