Tutorial Useless?

edited September 2012 in Bug Reports
So after three days I am about to bail out on this product. I have been working heavily with codeignitor for three years now, and rolled some interesting modifications of my own, but this seems impossible.

The screens are pretty, but the documentation is not complete, and the tutorials are broken.
The ver0.91 tutorial worked mostly, but the ver0.93 is missing stuff all over. And since there is no documentation to explain what is going on internally, its not possible to figure out what steps are missing from the tutorial. Its very clear that the author never actually tried following the tutorial step by step. As an example: The author never mentioned creating an entry in MY_fuel_modules for the articles module. Another example: The author never mentioned setting up the "variables" file for the page 'example.php' so that it can process various categories. I was able to figure out this only because I had run into the same problem in Ver 0.91. In the end, it still won't work because the mechanism for matching articles to the categories in the example.php is completely broken. Instead of returning an array of articles, it does a var_dump of the category to the screen. Thus the tutorial cannot be completed.

There is no explanation at all of how the internals work. There are no PHP-doc or reasonable comments in the code, and the UserGuide does not explain how FuelCms works. (As an example: How do the various cache directories relate to each other? How to best integrate FuelCms cacheing with CodeIgnitor output cacheing? What are the steps that Fuel goes through to resolve routing? Why are some classes extended, and then every method in the base class is overridden, and the base class is not inherited by any other class or used itself?)