add models in models

edited May 2012 in Modules
Hi,
I'm new in FUEL CMS and have general question. What's the easiest way to create multiple model-objects within another model. In other words I need a field in the model which makes it possible to add and edit another model (which is in a 1-to-n-relationship to it). I think the clue is to use the css class add_edit in combination of the multi-mode, but I apparently don't use it properly. Does anyone have a piece of code where this (probably common) case is used?

Example:

Author_model where you can add various Book_model's easily.

cheers

Comments

• edited 1:29AM
    You can use the "add_edit" css class to modify another modules data from within your own module like so (where "books" is the name of the other module):
    ... $forms['books']['class'] = 'add_edit books';
    If you are wanting the form field to be within your module, I suggest taking a look at the "Associating Categories to Articles" section of the modules tutorial:
    http://www.getfuelcms.com/user_guide/modules/tutorial
    thank you. I tried that before. but it always shows an empty window. is there anything i forgot to define?
    ok never mind! got it ;)
    is it possible to pass the id of the module to the other module (foreign key)?

in other words i want to create various books with the foreign key author_id within the author model.

still don't get the connection!

cheers!
    Unfortunately, that currently isn't something you can do at the moment.
    thanks a lot for your help!

i have another question. now since i'm able to add and edit another module within another module, how can i display them in the form?

what i need is a sort of box/list which displays all added models.

example:

$fields['books'] = array('class' => 'add_edit books');