using model inside another model.

edited October 2015 in Modules
Hi,
I am new to fuel cms. Just started to learn fuel cms, Fuel cms is really superb makes work easier but now am facing one problem I doesn't know how to do that if anyone overcome with those issue explain me how to do that.

I am having two tables. 1st table player_info and 2nd table player_skill. player_info contains player name(varchar) and player email(varchar) field whereas player_info table contains player_id(int) and player skill( text field ).

My model name is players_model.php in this i have added form_fields() function to show form combining two tables like name as text field and email as text field and player skill in text field. Right now am getting only two fields which is in player_info table..
can anyone help me out?

Comments

• edited 2:36PM
    If you want to combine the fields into one form, you can add a text field in your players_model::form_fields method, you can add additional fields like the following:
    public function form_fields($values = array(), $related = array()) { $fields = parent::form_fields($values, $related); // need to manually grab the value from the other table since it doesn't belong to this model if (!empty($values['id'])) { $CI =& get_instance(); $CI->load->model('player_info_model'); $player_info = $CI->player_info_model->find_one(array('player_id' => $values['id']); $skill_value = $player_info->skill; } $skill_value = (!empty($values['id'])) ? : null; $fields['skill']['comment'] = array('type' => 'textarea', 'value' => $skill_value); return $fields; }
    Then you will need to alter the saving so that the skill value gets saved to the proper table